Marie Davidson

Marie Davidson began her musical journey as a child with the violin and classical training. At the age of 19, she was propelled into the independent scene of her native Montréal, performing with several groups and exploring new sounds. With Xarah Dion, she formed the experimental duo Les Momies de Palerme, which released an album on the legendary Constellation label a few years later. At that time, Marie gravitates around the universe of the DIY art space La Brique, where she learned the ropes. There, she met Pierre Guerineau, her current husband; together, they formed the Essaie pas duo with which they produced several releases, including two albums under the DFA label.

At the same time, she joined forces with David Kristian to form DKMD, who introduced her to sequencers and production. This was the catalyst that led her to perform solo and, in 2012, to self-release her eponymous debut EP, later re-issued by Holodeck. A series of albums followed, starting with Perte d’identité in 2014, Un Autre Voyage in 2015, and Adieux Au Dancefloor on Cititrax in 2016. In 2018, she signed to Ninja Tune and released the highly acclaimed Working Class Woman, elevating her forefront of the electronic music scene. The album made it to the Polaris Shortlist and even to the Grammys with Soulwax’s nomination for the remix of her dance hit, Work It.

Disenchanted by the club scene and exhausted by the isolation and the frantic pace of touring, at the end of 2019, she began a more personal and introspective work which would lead to the creation of the group Marie Davidson & L’Œil Nu. The band releases Renegade Breakdown in 2020, a collection of songs with hybrid arrangements that blur stylistic standards and allow Davidson to assert her versatility and highlight her talents in both writing and performance.

During the winter of 2021, Davidson composed the music for Jump Cut # 2, an audiovisual experience designed in collaboration with choreographer Dana Gingras and video artist Sabrina Ratté. The work, co-commissioned by the CTM festival in Berlin and Ciné Qua Non Media, had its world premiere at MUTEK Barcelona x Buenos Aires’ digital edition.

Past events

Marie Davidson

Marie Davidson amorce son parcours musical à l’enfance avec le violon et une formation classique. Dès l’âge de 19 ans, elle est propulsée dans la scène indépendante de son Montréal natal, se produisant avec plusieurs groupes et explorant de nouvelles sonorités. Elle forme avec Xarah Dion le duo expérimental Les Momies de Palerme qui fera paraître quelques années plus tard un album sur la mythique étiquette Constellation. À cette époque, Marie gravite dans l’univers de l’espace artistique DIY La Brique où elle fait ses classes. C’est là qu’elle rencontre Pierre Guerineau, son actuel mari; ensemble, ils forment le duo Essaie pas avec lequel ils produisent plusieurs sortis dont deux albums sous le label DFA.

En parallèle, elle s’allie avec David Kristian pour former DKMD, ce dernier l’initie aux séquenceurs et à la production. C’est le catalyseur qui l’a amenée à se produire en solo et en 2012 à faire paraître par elle-même son premier EP éponyme, ultérieurement réédité chez Holodeck. S’ensuit une série d’albums, à commencer par Perte d’identité en 2014, Un Autre Voyage en 2015 et Adieux Au Dancefloor chez Cititrax en 2016. En 2018, elle signe chez Ninja Tune et fait paraître le très encensé Working Class Woman qui la projette à l’avant-plan de la scène de musique électronique. L’album se retrouve dans la courte liste du prix Polaris et jusqu’au Grammys avec la nomination du remix par Soulwax de la pièce phare Work It.

Désenchantée par la scène club en plus d’être épuisée par l’isolation et le rythme effréné des tournées, elle amorce fin 2019 un travail plus personnel et introspectif qui mènera à la création du groupe Marie Davidson & L’Œil Nu. La formation présente l’album Renegade Breakdown en 2020, une collection de chansons aux arrangements hybrides qui brouillent les normes stylistiques et permettent à Davidson d’affirmer sa polyvalence et de mettre en valeur ses talents autant en écriture qu’en performance.

À l’hiver 2021, Davidson compose la musique de Jump Cut #2, une expérience audiovisuelle conçue en collaboration avec la chorégraphe Dana Gingras et l’artiste vidéo Sabrina Ratté. L’œuvre, co-commissionnée par le festival CTM de Berlin et Ciné Qua Non Media, fût présentée en première mondiale à l’édition digitale du festival MUTEK Barcelone x Buenos Aires.

Événements passés