Jesse Osborne-Lanthier

Active since 2007, Jesse Osborne-Lanthier is a Montréal-based multidisciplinary artist, composer, designer, curator, producer and musician. His interest lies in using his work to create both a living ecosystem of abstract memories and outward-looking, physically-reactive music to mezmerize, appall, and delight his audiences in equal measure. His last several releases have found homes on Halcyon Veil, raster-noton, Where To Now?, United Standard, Cosmo Rhythmatic and Haunter Records.

Musically, Osborne-Lanthier looks to the material composition and hybrid techniques of a wide gamut of genres spanning from pop to experimental music, to create something that is readily unique and oddly accessible in its singularity. Above all, Osborne-Lanthier maintains a taste for intensity as a tool for immersive engagement. His music is tactile and elastic, morphing rapidly from uncanny-valley sound design to vast, sweeping expanses of profound choral synths and circling back to more classically inclined instrumental rhythms. His work provides stark contrasts at every turn; sometimes heavily structured or freely fluid; symphonic or dissonant; minimal or intricate.

Osborne-Lanthier’s hybridized musical languages gesture at both something plainly known and deeply unknowable; the new, the old, the imaginary, and the unimaginable jostling side-by-side for equal attention in the ears of his audience. His work operates as a catalogue of his various moods, passions, beliefs, and interests; a constantly updating self-referential corpus. As his design practice grows in both scope and confidence, so too does the visual identity that accompanies his music.

In addition to his solo work, Osborne-Lanthier is a prolific collaborator; most notably under the alias Femminielli Noir (with Bernadino Femminielli and later Asaël Robitaille), and other projects with Grischa Lichtenberger, Marie Davidson, Asaël Robitaille and Pierre Guerineau (Orchestroll), Anna Arrobas and Daniele Guerrini (AKA Heith). As a designer and engineer he’s provided artwork, design, and mixing & mastering services to hundreds of artists and labels — including scene staples like NON Records, Essaie Pas, Halcyon Veil, Where To Now?, genome 6.66 mbp, Avec le soleil sortant de sa bouche, Unseelie, Absurd Trax, NAFF, DFA Records, Alex Zhang Hungtai, MSYLMA, rkss, Dasychira, Maurizio Bianchi, Himera and countless more. He is the co-founder of Éditions Appærent, a multifaceted publishing house, collective and record label, launched alongside Pierre Guerineau (AKA Feu St-Antoine and 1/2 of Essaie Pas) and Will Ballantyne (AKA City and a member of Vancouver’s s.M.i.L.e. collective).

He has toured extensively in America, Asia, and Europe, performing at festivals such as Mutek, Elektra, Norberg, Sonar, Rewire, Lunchmeat, CTM, Synthposium Armenia, Suoni Per Il Popolo and FASMA. His audio and visual works have also been featured in museums, galleries, and venues such as the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, The Nottingham Contemporary Museum, National Gallery of Canada, Compufunk, Berghain, NK, WWWß Tokyo, La Petite Mort, Club Stomp Osaka, Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival CZ, São Paulo Museum of Image and Sound, NK Berlin, and EMS Studio Stockholm.

Past events

Jesse Osborne-Lanthier

Actif depuis 2007 et basé à Montréal, Jesse Osborne-Lanthier est un artiste multidisciplinaire, compositeur, designer, conservateur, producteur et musicien. Sa démarche artistique consiste à utiliser son travail pour créer à la fois un écosystème vivant de souvenirs abstraits et une musique tournée vers l’extérieur et physiquement réactive pour hypnotiser, effrayer et ravir son public dans une égale mesure. Ses dernières sorties ont trouvé refuge sur Halcyon Veil, raster-noton, Where To Now?, United Standard, Cosmo Rhythmatic et Haunter Records.

Musicalement, Osborne-Lanthier se tourne vers la composition matérielle et les techniques hybrides d’une large gamme de genres allant de la pop à la musique expérimentale, pour ainsi créer quelque chose de facilement unique et étrangement accessible dans sa singularité. Surtout, Osborne-Lanthier garde le goût de l’intensité comme outil d’engagement immersif. Sa musique est tactile et élastique, passant rapidement d’une conception sonore mystérieuse à de vastes et profondes chorales de synthés pour revenir à des rythmes instrumentaux plus classiques. Son travail offre des contrastes saisissants à chaque tournant; parfois fortement structuré ou librement fluide; symphonique ou dissonant; minime ou complexe.

Les langages musicaux hybrides d’Osborne-Lanthier désignent à la fois quelque chose de clairement connu et de profondément inconnaissable; le nouveau, l’ancien, l’imaginaire et l’inimaginable se bousculent pour une attention égale aux oreilles de son auditoire. Son travail fonctionne comme un catalogue de ses diverses humeurs, passions, croyances et intérêts; un corpus autoréférentiel constamment mis à jour. Au fur et à mesure que sa pratique du design prend de l’ampleur et de la confiance, l’identité visuelle qui accompagne sa musique grandit également.

En plus de son travail solo, Osborne-Lanthier est un collaborateur prolifique; notamment sous l’alias Femminielli Noir (avec Bernadino Femminielli et plus tard Asaël Robitaille), et d’autres projets avec Grischa Lichtenberger, Marie Davidson, Asaël Robitaille et Pierre Guerineau (Orchestroll), Anna Arrobas et Daniele Guerrini (AKA Heith). En tant que designer et ingénieur, il a fourni des services d’art, de conception, de mixage et de mastering à des centaines d’artistes et de labels — y compris des incontournables de la scène comme NON Records, Essaie Pas, Halcyon Veil, Where To Now?, genome 6.66 mbp, Avec le soleil sortant de sa bouche, Unseelie, Absurd Trax, NAFF, DFA Records, Alex Zhang Hungtai, MSYLMA, rkss, Dasychira, Maurizio Bianchi, Himera et bien d’autres. Il est le co-fondateur des Éditions Appærent, une maison d’édition multifacette, à la fois collectif et maison de disques, lancée aux côtés de Pierre Guerineau (AKA Feu St-Antoine et 1/2 d’Essaie Pas) et Will Ballantyne (AKA City et membre du collectif s.M.i.L.e de Vancouver).

Il a fait de nombreuses tournées en Amérique, en Asie et en Europe, se produisant dans des festivals tels que Mutek, Elektra, Norberg, Sonar, Rewire, Lunchmeat, CTM, Synthposium Armenia, Suoni Per Il Popolo et FASMA. Ses œuvres audiovisuelles ont également été présentées dans des musées, des galeries et autres lieux tels que le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, The Nottingham Contemporary Museum, National Gallery of Canada, Compufunk, Berghain, NK, WWWß Tokyo, La Petite Mort, Club Stomp Osaka, Ji. hlava International Documentary Film Festival CZ, São Paulo Museum of Image and Sound, NK Berlin et EMS Studio Stockholm.

Événements passés