Launch of the first issue of Dubref

A mixed-media magazine

This brand new CD-ROM magazine called DUBREF is produced by Léon Guy DUPUIS, a multidisciplinary artist and writer who studied literature, and Bernard BELZILE, a digital video editor who also studied literature.

DUBREF features francophone and anglophone urban spoken-word and oral-literature performers. Their performances — rap, theatre, poetry, fiction, improv, music poetry, video poetry, art video and more - are recorded on audio and video, then released on mixed-format CD/CD-ROM recordings. Audiences will enjoy discovering or rediscovering these performers while following the development and growing importance of the oral-literature genre. Four compilations per year will be released.

The DUBREF crew will be present during the entire festival to film and record the performances — capturing whatever mayhem might occur!

The first compilation, Dubref Session 1, features the following performers in audio and/or video: Anthony BANSFIELD, SÉBA, Yannick B. GÉLINAS, Marie-Hélène POITRAS/Yannick DUGUAY; Catherine KIDD, Ian LAUZON, Julie MAHFOOD, Neale MCDEVITT, Jean-Marc MASSIE and Doug SIMMS.

Excerpts from the CD-ROM will be screened and short performances will be given in French by SEBA and Ian LAUZON and in English by Catherine KIDD, Neale MCDEVITT and Doug SIMMS.

Lancement du premier numéro de Dubref

Place à la relève, une revue originale sur cédérom

Cette toute nouvelle revue originale sur cédérom est dirigée par Léon Guy DUPUIS, écrivain et artiste pluridisciplinaire possédant une formation en études littéraires; et Bernard BELZILE, professionnel du montage vidéo numérique et possédant aussi une formation en études littéraires.

DUBREF présente les artistes francophones et anglophones de l’oralité et du spoken word urbain. Leurs performances - rap, théâtre, poésie, fiction, improvisation, musicothèques, vidéopoèmes, vidéos d’art…- sont documentées en formats audio ou vidéo et présentées sur disque compact / cédérom. Les spectateurs auront ainsi le plaisir de réentendre et de redécouvrir ces artistes de l’oralité tout en suivant l’évolution de cette forme d’art. Quatre compilations paraîtront chaque année.

L’équipe de DUBREF sera présente tout au long du festival pour filmer et documenter les performances. Pour une fois que les mots ne partent pas en fumée!

Cette première compilation «DUBREF SESSION 1» présente les performances (audio ou vidéo) des artistes Anthony BANSFIELD, SEBA, Yannick B. GÉLINAS, Marie-Hélène POITRAS/Yannick DUGUAY; Catherine KIDD, Ian LAUZON, Julie MAHFOOD, Neale MCDEVITT, Jean-Marc MASSIE et Doug SIMMS.

Des extraits du cédérom seront projetés et de courtes performances seront données par les artistes francophones SEBA et Ian LAUZON et les artistes anglophones Catherine KIDD, NEALE MCDEVITT et Doug SIMMS.