(Re)confinement and the shuttering of cultural spaces hurts

(Re)confinement and the shuttering of cultural spaces hurts. To use Michel Marc Bouchard’s words: “We have been betrayed. Betrayed by a government that failed to acknowledge our efforts and results when enforcing its own guidelines.”

I am torn between sadness and anger when I think of all the energy the cultural sector put into creating and presenting performances to live audiences despite all the obstacles. All of it swept aside like a nasty slap in the face.

For our part, after postponing the event Danse ton parc co-presented with Hélène Langevin and Bouge de là, we must now postpone the performance of Falling Slowly by Peter Trosztmer. These two outdoor performances mean a lot to us, and we wouldn’t cancel them for anything in the world. Instead, they will be presented in 2021 once it is again possible to do so.

When I decided on Resilience as the theme for this 9th edition of Phénomena, I hoped it would be a period of restoration and of collective rebuilding, and that slowly we would begin gathering, dreaming, moving, collaborating. That moment is still far off, but I feel combative and attentive. And now, more than ever, we must be attentive to others in order to protect the cultural sector and all our artists, designers, organizers, technicians, artistic directors, artisans and other essential, indispensable, skilled, dedicated, experienced, inspired, passionate people who make our community as rich and unique as it is. A community I am proud to be a part of. Respect.

—D. Kimm
Artistic Director
Les Filles électriques / Festival Phénomena

La (re)fermeture des lieux culturels fait mal

La (re)fermeture des lieux culturels fait mal. Pour reprendre les mots de Michel Marc Bouchard: «Nous avons été trahis. Trahis par un gouvernement qui n’a pas su reconnaître les efforts et les résultats dans l’application de ses propres consignes.»

Je suis partagée entre tristesse et colère quand je pense à toute l’énergie mise par tout le milieu culturel pour continuer malgré tous les obstacles de créer et de présenter au public. Tout ça balayé du revers de la main comme une méchante claque sur la gueule.

De notre côté, après avoir reporté l’événement Danse ton parc coprésenté avec Hélène Langevin et Bouge de là, c’est maintenant le spectacle Falling Slowly de Peter Trosztmer que nous devons reporter. Attention, nous y tenons à ces deux spectacles extérieurs et pour rien au monde nous allons les annuler. Nous allons les présenter en 2021, quand le contexte sera plus propice.

Lorsque j’ai pensé à Résilience comme thématique de cette 9e édition de Phénomena, j’espérais une période de réparation, de reconstruction collective, et que nous allions recommencer tout doucement à pouvoir nous côtoyer, rêver, bouger, collaborer. On est encore loin de ça mais je me sens combative et attentive. Et on a besoin d’être plus que jamais attentif aux autres pour protéger notre milieu culturel et tous les artistes, concepteurs, organisateurs, techniciens, directeurs artistiques, artisans et autres personnes indispensables, compétentes, dévouées, expérimentées, inspirées, passionnées qui font la richesse et la singularité de notre milieu. Milieu dont je suis fière de faire partie. Respect.

—D. Kimm
Directrice artistique
Les Filles électriques / Festival Phénomena