Job Offer — Diversity Commissioner


Festival Phenomena’s 10th edition (October 12th to 22nd, 2021)
Contract encompassing approximately 300 hours of work from April 1st to October 30th
Salary: 10 000$
The Diversity Commissionner’s presence will be required during the Festival

By diversity we mean visible minorities, people who are Indigenous, People of Colour, people with disabilities and/or people who identify themselves as part of the LGBTQ+ community.


Job Description

We are looking for a candidate who self-identifies within the previous definition of diversity and who has at least 5 years of experience in artistic direction, in event organization or as a commissioner. The position’s mandate is to support the Festival’s progression to ensure diversity within its programming and to evaluate the process itself while respecting the Festival’s mission and history.

Context

Les Filles électriques and Phenomena Festival is looking to hire an independent Commissionner in order to further its programming of artists within the definition of diversity. The Commissionner will be invited to collaborate with the Artistic Director on part of the programming and to present their ideas and opinions regarding ongoing procedures.

Since its creation, Phenomena Festival (similarly to its predecessor Festival Voix d’Amériques) embraces within its mission a pursuit for cultural diversity as well as openness to a multiplicity of artistic practices. Over the years we have presented more than a hundred Indigenous artists, PoC artists, queer artists, and artists with disabilities; we have contributed to their professional development and artistic expansion. The Festival strives to be a place of gathering for artists and audiences of different communities, belonging to different identities and generations. It is also a place of discovery and of sharing that promotes a better understanding of what makes us different and what unites us.

Mandate

For Phenomena’s 10th edition, the Diversity Commissioner will have as their mandate:

  • Program and coordinate at least 2 shows (cabaret, performance, happening, etc.);
  • Design and organize at least 2 mediation events that will offer a place for exchange between artists of diversity and wider audiences;
  • Design and organize at least 2 activities for the professional development of artists within the definition of diversity;
  • Participate in the 10th edition of Festival Phenomena and produce critical feedback;
  • Make recommendations to further the company’s inclusive practices.

Qualifications and candidate profile

  • To belong to one or many of the communities mentioned within the definition of diversity;
  • At least 5 years of professional experience in artistic direction, event organization, or as a commissioner;
  • Proficient knowledge and active interest for artists from diverse communities;
  • Commitment to contributing towards dialogues with audiences;
  • Thoroughness, curiosity, adaptability when facing unforeseen circumstances and the ability to work equally well alone as in a team;
  • Excellent mastery of French and English, both spoken and written.

Please forward a personalized letter of intent (mandatory) and a curriculum vitae to the attention of D. Kimm at d.kimm@electriques.ca by March 10th 2021 at the latest. We wholeheartedly thank all candidates who send us their application. Only those selected will be contacted.

Offre d’emploi — Commissaire à la diversité


10e Festival Phénomena (12 au 22 octobre 2021)
Contrat d’environ 300 heures du 1er avril au 30 octobre
Cachet de 10 000$
Présence requise durant le Festival

Par diversité nous entendons les minorités visibles et les personnes autochtones, racisées, ayant un handicap et/ou s’identifiant à la communauté LGBTQ+.


Description du poste

La personne recherchée est issue de la diversité et doit posséder au moins 5 ans d’expérience en direction artistique, commissariat ou en organisation d’événements. Elle aura pour mandat de soutenir la direction du Festival dans son processus pour favoriser la diversité dans sa programmation et évaluer ses façons de faire dans le respect de sa mission et de son historique.

Contexte

La compagnie Les Filles électriques et le Festival Phénomena souhaitent engager un ou une commissaire indépendant.e afin de favoriser la présentation d’artistes issu.e.s de la diversité dans sa programmation. Le ou la commissaire sera invité.e à collaborer à une partie de la programmation et à présenter ses idées et ses points de vue sur les processus et les façons de faire déjà mis en place.

Depuis sa création, le Festival Phénomena, tout comme son prédécesseur le Festival Voix d’Amériques, ont inclus dans leur mission un souci de diversité culturelle et d’ouverture à une multiplicité des pratiques. Au cours des années, nous avons présenté une centaine d’artistes autochtones, racisé.e.s, queer ou ayant un handicap et nous avons contribué à leur développement professionnel et à leur rayonnement. Le Festival se veut un lieu de rencontre entre des artistes et des publics de différentes communautés, appartenances, générations; mais aussi un lieu de découverte et de partage afin de mieux comprendre ce qui nous différencie et ce qui nous unit.

Mandat

Pour la 10e édition de Phénomena, le ou la commissaire à la diversité aura pour mandat de:

  • Programmer et coordonner au moins 2 spectacles (cabaret, performance, happening, etc.);
  • Concevoir et organiser au moins 2 événements de médiation permettant une rencontre et une discussion entre des artistes de la diversité et le grand public;
  • Concevoir et organiser au moins 2 activités de développement professionnel pour les artistes de la diversité;
  • Assister à la programmation de la 10e édition du Festival Phénomena et effectuer un retour critique;
  • Faire des recommandations à la compagnie pour améliorer ses pratiques inclusives.

Compétences et profil recherché

  • Être issu.e d’une ou plusieurs des communautés ciblées;
  • Expérience d’au moins cinq ans en direction artistique, commissariat ou en organisation d’événements;
  • Posséder une bonne connaissance et un intérêt pour les artistes issu.e. s des communautés ciblées;
  • Avoir à cœur de contribuer au dialogue avec le public;
  • Rigueur, curiosité, capacité de s’adapter aux changements et de travailler aussi bien seul.e qu’en équipe;
  • Excellente connaissance du français et de l’anglais parlé et écrit.

Faites parvenir une lettre d’intention personnalisée (obligatoire) et un curriculum vitae à l’attention de D. Kimm à d.kimm@electriques.ca au plus tard le 10 mars 2021. Nous remercions toutes les personnes qui soumettront leur candidature. Seules les personnes retenues seront contactées.