Phenomenal Parade

A poetic, participatory and community-based parade on the streets of Mile End

Extravagant, community-based and non-commercial, the Phenomenal Parade is a biannual event, as well as a public and artistic occupation of public space. The Parade’s goal is to offer a grand, creative, colorful and vibrant event to the public — one that is inclusive and open to the participation of all.

The 2nd edition of the Phenomenal Parade will take place Saturday October 5th, 2019, in the afternoon (postponed to the following day in case of rain) on the streets of Mile End. The Parade will wrap up with a musical show for all ages. The festivity will include street artists and marching bands, community organizations and citizen groups, all dressed up in costumes that fit the colors and themes of this 2nd edition:

  • Birds: hues of blue and violet
  • Flowers: hues of red and pink
  • Spirit of the forest: hues of green and brown
  • Steampunk: hues of black and bronze
  • Celestial bodies: hues of yellow and silver
  • Walking museum: all colors
  • Imaginary animals: all colors

This year, Phenomena Festival has once again partnered up with Urban Fairy Patsy Van Roost to invite citizens to be at the core of the event by joining one of our thematic parade blocks. Community-based organizations, coops and associations will also be taking part in the event. The Phenomenal Parade offers an artistic platform for socially-engaged organizations by inviting them to a moment of poetic and subversive folly. Through a couple of costume-and-accessory-making workshops, participating organizations will explore the creativity of their members within a framework of sharing and togetherness.

Are you interested in participating in the Parade? Here is what you can do to be a part of the event:

As a group

If you are a member of an organization, an association, a community group or a CO-OP that is interested in taking part in one the thematic parade blocks, send us a message at lesfilles@electriques.ca. Send us a description of the organization, the expected number of participants, and the contact information.

As a citizen

Would you like to dress up in a costume and parade down the streets with us on October 5th? Sign up by filling out this form in order to discover the different ways of participating in the Parade, be it alone, with family, friends or neighbors. You can follow us on Facebook and Instagram, and sign up to receive Les Filles électriques’s newsletter. We will be sharing costume-and-accessory making tutorials, as well as inspiring images for costume creations, on our Facebook groups (one group per thematic block) and on our Pinterest page. Whether you are a Mile End or Montréal resident, or you’re simply passing through town, everyone is invited to take part in this unique and poetic event!

As a volunteer

Are you interested in being part of the dream team making sure the 2019 Phenomenal Parade runs smoothly? We are looking for resourceful, versatile and energetic volunteers to help out with a variety of tasks. Sign up by filling out this form and we will contact you thereafter.

Infos:

  • Saturday October 5th, 2019, in the afternoon (postponed to the following day in case of rain)
  • Distance from start to finish: 1 km
  • Music show for all ages at the gathering point
  • Free event for all ages, communities and abilities

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Parade Phénoménale

Une Parade poétique, participative et citoyenne dans les rues du Mile End

Extravagante, communautaire et non commerciale, la Parade Phénoménale est un évènement biennal et une occupation citoyenne et artistique de l’espace public. La Parade a pour but d’offrir à la population un évènement d’envergure créatif, coloré, ludique et poétique, mais aussi inclusif qui propose un contexte ouvert pour la participation de tous.

La 2e édition de la Parade Phénoménale aura lieu le samedi 5 octobre 2019 en après-midi (remis au lendemain en cas de pluie) dans les rues du Mile End. La Parade se conclura par un spectacle musical pour tous. La Parade regroupera des artistes de rue, des fanfares, des organismes communautaires et des groupes de citoyens, tous costumés selon les couleurs et les thématiques de cette deuxième édition:

  • Les Oiseaux: teintes de bleu et violet
  • Les Fleurs: teintes de rouge et rose
  • L’Esprit de la forêt: teintes de vert et brun
  • Steampunk: teintes de noir et bronze
  • Les Corps célestes: teintes de jaune et argent
  • Le Musée ambulant: toutes les couleurs
  • Animaux imaginaires: toutes les couleurs

Cette année, le Festival Phénomena s’associe encore une fois à Patsy Van Roost, la fée urbaine, pour inviter les citoyens à s’intégrer à un cortège de la Parade. Nous convions aussi des organismes communautaires, des coops et des associations à s’impliquer en groupe à la Parade. Nous offrons une tribune artistique à des organismes qui contribuent au bien-être social en leur proposant un moment de folie poétique et subversive. À travers quelques ateliers de fabrication de costumes et accessoires, les organismes participants éveilleront leur créativité dans un esprit convivial et de partage.

Cela vous intéresse de participer à la Parade? Voici comment faire pour devenir partie prenante de l’évènement:

En tant que groupe

Si vous faites partie d’un organisme, d’une association, d’un groupe communautaire, ou d’une coop qui aurait envie de s’intégrer au défilé costumé de la Parade, contactez-nous en envoyant un courriel à lesfilles@electriques.ca. Envoyez-nous une description de l’organisme, le nombre de participants pressentis, et le nom de la personne ressource.

En tant que citoyen

Vous souhaitez vous costumer et venir parader avec nous le 5 octobre? Inscrivez-vous sur ce formulaire pour connaître toutes les possibilités de participation à la Parade que ce soit seul, en famille, avec des amis ou des voisins. Vous pouvez nous suivre sur Facebook et Instagram, et vous abonner à l’infolettre des Filles électriques. Nous partagerons avec vous des tutoriels de costumes et accessoires ainsi que des images inspirantes pour vos créations à travers nos groupes Facebook (un par cortège) et notre page Pinterest. Qu’on soit résidents du Mile End, de Montréal ou de passage en ville, tout le monde est invité à s’impliquer dans cet évènement unique, ludique et poétique!

En tant que bénévole

Ça vous dirait de faire partie de l’équipe de la 2e édition de la Parade Phénoménale? Nous sommes à la recherche de bénévoles débrouillard-e-s, polyvalent-e-s et énergiques afin d’effectuer des tâches et projets variés. Inscrivez-vous sur ce formulaire et nous vous contacterons par la suite.

Infos:

  • Samedi le 5 octobre en après-midi (remis au lendemain en cas de pluie)
  • Trajet 1 km
  • Spectacle musical pour tous au point d’arrivée de la Parade
  • Évènement gratuit pour tous âges, milieux, communautés et capacités

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.