Artist

Photo: Rolline Laporte

Richard Desjardins

Richard Desjardins was born in 1948 in Noranda (now Rouyn-Noranda), a small town in the heart of the Abitibi-Timiskaming region. His first encounter with music came thanks to his mother, who introduced him to the piano before he started school. By age 16, the young pianist was accompanying his elder brother Roger in local bars. He then joined a number of local bands, while working days as a copywriter for Radio-Nord.

At 27, with four musician friends, he formed a country-rock band called Abbittibbi, and they honed their craft mainly at hotels in northern Ontario, playing hits from English radio and a few French songs written by Desjardins. They were always scrambling for money, and the musical brotherhood lasted only a few months before breaking up.

In 1976, Richard Desjardins moved to Montreal, soon followed by the rest of Abbittibbi… and the band started up again. At the time, Abbittibbi was only performing occasionally in clubs, for which they earned starvation wages. Never mind. They succeeded in launching a first album, Boom Town Café, and sales were going well, but the band broke up once again after a series of problems with the record company.

Desjardins decided to go his own road, and began putting together an album with roots in poetry and traditional music, where the words would soar on the notes of the piano alone. The singer-songwriter-performer was in no rush, and a few years later he had a repertoire of new songs he enjoyed singing in bars, cafés and small rooms, accompanying himself on electronic piano. Les derniers humains finally came out in 1987 and this first solo work quickly sold out, so Desjardins immediately went back to work writing new pieces for a follow-up album. The spectacular Tu m’aimes-tu, recorded at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur in Montreal, was released in 1990. Trying to market his product, Desjardins knocked at the door of every producer in Montreal. Everywhere he went, the answer was No. With hindsight, it’s clear those producers missed the boat. Tu m’aimes-tu, which Desjardins would produce himself, sold more than 125,000 copies.

1990 was a turning point in Desjardins’s career. Invited to open the Stephan Eicher show at the Festival d’été de Québec, he had the crowd at his feet, calling out for more. During the same period, Pierre Falardeau’s film Le Party, for which Desjardins had written the score, was enjoying enormous success. The Festival d’été de Québec awarded him its Prix miroir de la chanson francophone, and in 1991, at the L’ADISQ awards night, his peers finally recognized his talent by presenting him with the Felix for Songwriter of the Year, and Pop Album of the Year.

Success on the other side of the pond would not be long in coming. The programmer at Paris’s world renowned Théâtre de la Ville offered him a three-night gig, and Desjardins perfected his style in front of everyone-who-was-anyone in Paris. That first appearance on French soil would be followed by many more. Richard Desjardins played the Bataclan (equivalent to the Spectrum in Montreal) no fewer than a dozen times. After his 1993Quebec tour, he launched Richard Desjardins au Club Soda, a live album that included several new songs, monologues, and even songs he had written back in his days with Abbittibbi.

After touring his solo show (some 450 performances across Quebec, France, Switzerland and Belgium), Desjardins returned to his roots, re-uniting with his brothers from Abbittibbi to record the powerful Chaude était la nuit. The album tour that followed was enough to convince Desjardins that he had been right to believe in the project. That reunion of his old pals became, in a way, a bridge to the next stage in his career. It was a “belle aventure”, since immortalized on disc as Abbittibbi Live, recorded at the Vieux Clocher in Magog.

Then, with friend Robert Monderie, he decided to do something about the issue of deforestation, preparing a wide-ranging, four-year investigation that would become the hard-hitting documentary exposé L’Erreur boréale (Forest Alert). The film raised myriad questions addressed to decision-makers and turned a spotlight on the critical status of Quebec’s boreal forest. Desjardins was devoting time and energy to the making of the documentary, but he was still working on his career as a musician, songwriter and performer, and in 1998 he launched his third solo album — this one recorded in studio, titled Boom Boom. He set out on a cross-Quebec tour that would last for the next two years.

In 2000, Richard Desjardins moved to France, where he performed regularly in cities and towns outside Paris. Back in Quebec in 2001, he set off on tour once again, armed this time with nothing but a guitar and his implacable words. The new tour, Desjardins et sa guétare, would take him to fifty small towns and give him time to work on the songs for yet another album, his eighth, titled Kanasuta. The name, meaning “Where the devils dance”, comes from the name of a forest in the area where he was born, which was protected through the efforts of an organization he had helped found. The mission of Action boréale is to oversee forest management in Quebec.

Kanasuta went on sale in 2003, just as the XIIth World Forestry Congress was meeting in Quebec City. The Kanasuta tour began in February 2004 and would last two years. Desjardins and his musical partners from the Kanasuta Project have given more than 120 performances in Quebec, Canada, France and Switzerland. The tour has also been captured on disc (with more than 5 hours of material, including the documentary Forest Alert). Kanasuta won 5 Felix awards at the 2004 L’ADISQ ceremony, and the Prix Miroir at the 2005 Festival d’été in Quebec City. Desjardins and his musicians will perform the show again at selected locations in Quebec in the summer of 2007.

In 2006, Richard Desjardins began filming — with partner Robert Monderie once again — a new documentary. Le Peuple invisible is a look at the Algonquin people, scheduled for release in 2007. In February 2007, Richard Desjardins is the Guest of Honour at the 6th Festival Voix d’Amériques.

Featured in events

Artiste

Photo: Rolline Laporte

Richard Desjardins

Richard Desjardins nait en 1948 à Noranda (aujourd’hui Rouyn-Noranda), petite municipalité située au cœur de la région de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue. Sa première rencontre avec la musique a lieu grâce à sa mère, laquelle l’initie au piano avant même qu’il ne fréquente l’école. Dès l’âge de 16 ans, le jeune pianiste accompagne Roger, son frère aîné, qui se produit dans les boîtes à chansons de la région. Il fait ensuite partie de divers orchestres, tout en travaillant comme scripteur publicitaire à la station radiophonique Radio-Nord.

À l’âge de 27 ans, il créé, avec quatre amis musiciens, un groupe country-rock du nom d’Abbittibbi, qui évolue principalement sur les scènes des hôtels du nord de l’Ontario en interprétant les chansons du hit-parade anglophone, de même que quelques pièces en français écrites et composées par Desjardins. Faute d’argent, la galère des compères ne dure que quelques mois… puis le groupe se sépare.

En 1976, Richard Desjardins déménage à Montréal, suivi peu après par ses comparses d’Abbittibbi… tant et si bien que le groupe renaît. Abbittibbi ne se produit alors que sporadiquement dans les boîtes de nuit, pour n’en récolter que des cachets de misère. Qu’à cela ne tienne, le groupe parvient à lancer un premier album intitulé Boom Town Café, qui se vend assez bien… jusqu’à ce que le groupe se sépare à nouveau à la suite de divers problèmes vécus avec leur compagnie de disques.

Desjardins décide alors de faire cavalier seul et mijote un album de facture poétique et classique, un album où les mots prendraient leur envol à même les notes d’un piano. L’auteur, compositeur et interprète ne brusque rien et se retrouve ainsi, quelques années plus tard, avec un répertoire de nouvelles chansons qu’il prend plaisir à interpréter dans les bars, les cafés ou les petites salles de spectacles, accompagné de son piano électrique. L’album Les derniers humains est enfin lancé en 1987 et tous les exemplaires de cette première création s’envolent rapidement, si bien que Desjardins se remet vite à la composition de nouvelles pièces en vue d’un second album. Enregistré à la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur, à Montréal, le magnifique projet Tu m’aimes-tu voit le jour en 1990. Dans le but de commercialiser son produit, Richard Desjardins cogne alors aux portes de tous les producteurs montréalais. Partout, la réponse s’avère négative. Force est d’admettre que ces producteurs ont manqué de flair. Tu m’aimes-tu, que Desjardins a lui-même produit, s’est écoulé à plus de 125 000 exemplaires à ce jour…

L’année 1990 marque un point tournant dans la carrière de Richard Desjardins. Invité en première partie du spectacle de Stephan Eicher au Festival d’été de Québec, il subjugue la foule qui en redemande. À la même époque, le film Le Party (de Pierre Falardeau), dont il avait composé la musique, connaît un succès retentissant. Le Festival d’été de Québec lui décerne, cette année-là, le Prix miroir de la chanson francophone, tandis que ses pairs reconnaissent enfin son talent en lui remettant, au gala de l’ADISQ 1991, les Félix «Auteur-compositeur de l’année» et «Album populaire de l’année».

Cet enviable succès trouve également écho outre-Atlantique. Le programmateur du Théâtre de la Ville, à Paris, l’engage en effet dans son prestigieux théâtre et Desjardins évolue ainsi devant le tout-Paris trois soirées durant. Cette première apparition en sol français n’est que la première d’une longue série, Richard Desjardins s’offrant par la suite, entre autres, le Bataclan (l’équivalent du Spectrum de Montréal) pas moins d’une douzaine de fois. À l’issue de sa tournée québécoise de 1993, il lance Richard Desjardins au Club Soda, un album enregistré devant public et comprenant plusieurs nouvelles chansons, quelques monologues, de même que certains titres datant de l’époque d’Abbittibbi.

Après avoir présenté son spectacle solo à quelque 450 reprises au Québec, en France, en Suisse et en Belgique, Desjardins effectue un retour aux sources en renouant avec ses compères d’Abbittibbi, avec qui il produit Chaude était la nuit, un album musclé. S’ensuit une tournée qui prouve à son instigateur qu’il avait eu raison d’y croire, cette réunion des vieux copains se voulant en quelque sorte un passage obligé avant de passer à une autre étape. Cette belle aventure a également été immortalisée sur disque avec l’album Abbittibbi live, enregistré au Vieux Clocher de Magog.

Avec son ami Robert Monderie, il décide ensuite de s’attaquer au problème de la déforestation, en menant une large enquête dont les résultats seront présentés sous forme de documentaire. Le film-choc L’Erreur boréale est diffusé quatre ans plus tard, suscitant maints questionnements auprès des décideurs et mettant par le fait même en lumière la situation critique de la forêt québécoise. Tout en consacrant temps et énergie à la réalisation de L’Erreur boréale, Desjardins n’en délaisse pas moins sa carrière d’auteur, compositeur et interprète alors qu’il lance, en 1998, un troisième album solo intitulé Boom Boom. S’ensuit une tournée québécoise qui s’échelonnera sur près de deux ans.

En 2000, Richard Desjardins s'installe en France pour un an, période au cours de laquelle il donne régulièrement des spectacles un peu partout en province. De retour au pays en 2001, il part en tournée en région avec, comme seuls compagnons sur scène, sa guitare et ses mots implacables. La tournée Desjardins et sa guétare le mène dans une cinquantaine de petites villes, de même qu’il mijote pendant ce temps les chansons d’un nouvel album ayant pour titre Kanasuta, son huitième album. Kanasuta, ou «Là où les diables vont danser», tient son nom d’une forêt de sa région natale épargnée à la suite de démarches entamées par l'Action boréale, organisme qu’il a contribué à fonder et qui a pour mission de surveiller l'évolution du dossier de nos forêts.

Kanasuta est mis en marché en 2003, au moment même où se déroule, à Québec, le XIIe Congrès forestier mondial annuel. La tournée du même nom débute en février 2004, et durera plus de deux ans. Desjardins et ses complices musiciens du spectacle Kanasuta auront présenté plus de 120 représentations au Québec, au Canada, en France et en Suisse. De plus, cette tournée a été immortalisée sur DVD (plus de 5 heures dont le film documentaire l’Erreur Boréale). Couronné de 5 prix Félix au gala de l’Adisq 2004, Prix Miroir au Festival d’été 2005, le spectacle Kanasuta sera encore présenté à quelques reprises au Québec l’été 2007.

En 2006, Richard Desjardins tourne, toujours avec son complice Robert Monderie, un nouveau documentaire, Le Peuple invisible qui porte sur le peuple algonquin. Produit par l’Office national du film, ce long métrage est attendu sur nos écrans en 2007 et Claude Fradette, guitariste de Kanasuta, en signera la musique.

En février 2007, Desjardins est l’invité d’honneur de la 6e édition du Festival Voix d’Amériques.

A participé ou collaboré aux événements