Event

Martin Tétreault + Gatineau

  • La Sala Rossa
    4848, boulevard Saint-Laurent, 3e (près de l’angle Saint-Joseph)
    Saturday February 3, 2007
    8:30 pm

In French. After listening to countless kilometres of magnetic tape and old vinyl, and long hours choosing, sampling, processing and remixing the sounds, musician Martin Tétreault brings us the voices of yesterday emerging from the past in a way that is both touching and irreverent. The words of Miron, Langevin, Garneau, Savard, Desbiens and others meet and come alive in varying declensions and declinations, while Tétreault - at his skilful, mischievous best here — mixes acoustic and electronic tunes, with a little folklore and familiar tunes thrown in. “I hear voices,” he tells us… “but also sounds.”

With the help of Julien Roy, Martin Tétreault presents “live on stage” a dialogue between poetry and music mixed with three audio clips by Diane Labrosse, Anne-Françoise Jacques and Aimé Dontigny. As a bonus, we’ll see some magnificent projections from L’œil de verre, the new duo of artists Jean-Benoit Pouliot and Carl Fortin.

In part two of this musical evening, Gatineau will take the stage (after jamming with Martin Tétreault) to move us into party mode! Gatineau is no freak show, still less an Ottawa Valley band. They are a thoroughly Montreal, one-of-a-kind duo, dealing in “progressive spoken word”. With the voices of SEBA/mcBrutalll (Éric Brousseau) and music by Sugartech (Jean-Sébastien Cyr), Gatineau borrows equally from hip hop and electroacoustics. On February 3, the duo will be joined by Burne Mac Pherson (Jean-Sébastien Nicol) on drums and DeMhamel (Dominic Hamel) on machines and noise processor. Look out! The Sala will be shaking!

Événement

Martin Tétreault + Gatineau

  • La Sala Rossa
    4848, boulevard Saint-Laurent, 3e (près de l’angle Saint-Joseph)
    Samedi 3 février 2007
    20h30

En français. Après avoir numérisé des kilomètres de bandes magnétiques ou de vieux records et passé des heures à sélectionner, échantillonner, traiter et remixer; voilà que Martin Tétreault fait ressurgir les voix d’hier, de manière attachante et ludique. Les mots de Miron, Langevin, Garneau, Savard, Desbiens et les autres se rencontrent et reprennent vie sous diverses déclinaisons. À travers un mélange foisonnant de musiques acoustiques et électroniques, avec des relents de folklore et de vieux airs connus, le musicien Martin Tétreault, toujours aussi rigoureux et délinquant, fait se rencontrer le passé et le présent. «J’entends des voix…», nous a-t-il dit, «mais aussi des sons».

Avec la collaboration de Julien Roy, Martin Tétreault offre «live» ce dialogue entre poésie et musique autour duquel se greffent trois courts clips audio réalisés par Diane Labrosse, Anne-Françoise Jacques et Aimé Dontigny. En prime, nous aurons droit aux magnifiques projections de L’œil de verre, un nouveau duo formé des artistes Jean-Benoit Pouliot et Carl Fortin.

En deuxième partie de cette soirée musicale, après avoir jammé avec Martin Tétreault, Gatineau prendra d’assaut la scène pour faire lever le party! Gatineau n’est pas un freak show et encore moins un groupe d’Outaouais. C’est d’abord un duo bien montréalais, unique en son genre, qui donne dans le «spoken-word progressif». Composé de SEBA/mcBrutalll (Éric Brousseau) à la voix et Sugartech (Jean-Sébastien Cyr) à la musique, Gatineau emprunte autant au hip hop qu’à l’électro-acoustique. Le 3 février, Burne Mac Pherson (Jean-Sébastien Nicol) à la batterie et DeMhamel (Dominic Hamel) aux machines et traitement sonore se joindront au duo. Attention, ça promet de brasser!