Phénomena 2020

Festival Phénomena 2020 — Teaser; Thursday, September 17, 2020

Phenomena renews itself… as usual!

For this unexpected and unsettling year, Phenomena Festival’s 9th edition will take place under the theme of Resilience. The programming will be essentially online with the screening of 9 short video-art pieces, 2 performances broadcasted on video, and one soundwalk. Still, Phenomena would not be Phenomena without live audience interaction — as such, there will be 2 live outdoor performances.

The Festival’s programming

Considering these past months of isolation, grief and distress, it was of utmost importance for us to create a festive event, akin to the Phenomenal Parade, to inaugurate this Festival edition. We invite citizens to wear extravagant costumes and to dance with us at Baldwin Park on Saturday October 3rd at 2pm, while respecting physical distancing protocols. The event will come together with the presence of Hélène Langevin from the esteemed dance company Bouge de là.

La Sala Rossa, our hearth and headquarters, was the filming location of two performances that we will be broadcasting online. First up, Michel Faubert’s La Chapelle ardente, accompanied by an all-star band orchestrated by Bernard Falaise. Loosely inspired by Victor-Lévy Beaulieu’s Manuel de la Petite Littérature du Québec, this performance combines poetry, vocals and music. Followed by Cabaret Secret, an unusual cabaret, inclusive and intimate, in collaboration with the female and feminist team of Cirquantique and their guests. This joyous bunch explores circus arts, breakdance, bondage and burlesque.

Some of our usual suspects have, for the first time, created art videos. Our audience will have the opportunity to watch a whimsical correspondence between puppeteer Marcelle Hudon and musician Bernard Falaise, a video performance by Stéphane Crête on the subject of grief and emptiness, a video dance featuring multidisciplinary artist Marie-Hélène Bellavance (Corpuscule Danse) and her daughters, as well as a video by Claire Renaud on the subject of a particular sports icon: the cheerleader.

Following last year’s meaningful first experience with the Deaf performances Cabaret de performances sourdes, D. Kimm sustained her collaboration with deaf performers and accompanied artists Hodan Youssouf, Jennifer Manning, Theara Yim and visual artist Sera Kassab, in the production of three video poems in langue signée québécoise (LSQ), all entirely made by deaf artists. These are unique creations that showcase the inherent poetry within québec sign language, a language in and of itself with its specific subtleties, nuances and imagery. We are particularly honored to offer a platform to deaf artists, who are often underrepresented in arts programming, which is also a unique opportunity for the public to meet this extremely active community.

We are also presenting the creations of two seasoned digital artists. The video dance project Pas d’apparat corps by Guillaume Vallée in collaboration with Torontonian choreographer Calla Durose-Moya and musician Hazy Montagne Mystique explores the psychological impacts of trauma. Moreover, indigenous artist Danya Danger, whose artistic practice is rooted within the notions of family ties and interconnectedness, brings forth the video Beading Kin. Deeply affected by this pandemic, the artist explores themes of connection, language, exhaustion and what it means to accept failure.

This 9th edition will, as usual, invite festival-goers to walk up and down the streets of the Mile End while experiencing a neighbourhood-specific soundwalk — a very first for the Festival. Accompanied by the voice of comedian Christian Vanasse, the public is invited to discover the exhibition of 3D luminous artwork created by lighting designer and scenographer Lucie Bazzo and displayed on the windows of local shops. A podcast composed of eight stops, this stroll in the neighbourhood is peppered with historical anecdotes as told by Mile End Memories’ Melanie Leavitt.

Last but not least, Phenomena is especially proud to collaborate once more with dancer and choreographer Peter Trosztmer for the presentation of an in-situ creation, Falling Slowly. This 30-minute-long piece will be presented 5 times for an audience of 40 people on a parking lot next to an aged industrial building in Griffintown.

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Phénomena 2020

Toujours en cours

La (re)fermeture des lieux culturels fait mal

Phénomena se réinvente… comme à son habitude!

En cette année surprenante et inquiétante, la 9e édition du Festival Phénomena se fera sous le thème de la Résilience. La programmation sera essentiellement numérique avec la présentation de 9 courts-métrages d’art, de 2 captations de spectacles diffusées en différé, et d’un parcours sonore. Mais comme Phénomena ne saurait exister sans un contact privilégié avec le public, il y aura aussi 2 spectacles présentés en extérieur.

La programmation

Après plusieurs mois d’isolement, de deuils à faire et de détresse, il nous fallait un événement festif, à l’image de la Parade phénoménale, pour lancer le Festival. Nous invitons la population à se costumer de manière extravagante et à venir danser dans le parc Baldwin, le samedi 3 octobre à 14h, tout en respectant les mesures de distanciation. Le tout sera mené par la chorégraphe Hélène Langevin de la bien nommée compagnie Bouge de là.

La Sala Rossa c’est notre maison et notre quartier général et nous y avons filmé deux spectacles qui seront diffusés sur le Web. Tout d’abord La Chapelle ardente de Michel Faubert, entouré d’un band de rêve sous la direction de Bernard Falaise, un spectacle où se mêlent poésie, chant et musique, librement inspiré du Manuel de la Petite Littérature du Québec de Victor-Lévy Beaulieu. Ensuite Cabaret Secret, un cabaret atypique, intime et inclusif, en collaboration avec la joyeuse équipe féminine et féministe de Cirquantique et leurs invités, qui mêle arts circassiens, breakdance, bondage et burlesque.

Quelques habitués du Festival ont pour la première fois créé une vidéo d’art. On pourra voir notamment une correspondance ludique entre la marionnettiste Marcelle Hudon et le musicien Bernard Falaise, une vidéo-performance de Stéphane Crête portant sur le deuil et le vide, une vidéo-danse mettant en scène l’artiste multidisciplinaire Marie-Hélène Bellavance (Corpuscule Danse) et ses filles, ou encore une vidéo de Claire Renaud portant sur une icône du sport: la cheerleader.

Suite à une première expérience marquante avec le Deaf performances Cabaret de performances sourdes présenté l’année dernière, D. Kimm a poursuivi sa collaboration avec des artistes sourds et les accompagnés dans la production de 3 vidéos-poème en langue signée québécoise (LSQ) entièrement réalisés par des artistes sourds soit les performeurs Hodan Youssouf, Jennifer Manning, Theara Yim et l’artiste visuelle Sera Kassab. Il s’agit de créations singulières qui mettent en valeur la poésie de la langue signée qui est une langue en soi avec ses subtilités, ses nuances et ses images. Les artistes sourds ont peu d’occasions de se diffuser et nous sommes particulièrement heureux d’offrir au public une rare opportunité de mieux connaître cette communauté très active.

Nous présentons aussi les créations de deux artistes plus aguerris avec les technologies numériques. Le projet de vidéo-danse Pas d’apparat corps de Guillaume Vallée, en collaboration avec la chorégraphe torontoise Calla Durose-Moya et le musicien Hazy Montagne Mystique, porte sur l’impact psychique des traumatismes. De son côté, l’artiste autochtone Dayna Danger, dont la pratique est enracinée dans l’interconnexion et les liens de parenté, a été grandement affectée par la pandémie. Dans sa vidéo Beading Kin, l’artiste explore les thèmes de la connexion, du langage, de l’épuisement et de l’apprentissage de l’échec.

Cette 9e édition invitera quand même les festivaliers à mettre les pieds dans le Mile End avec un parcours sonore dans le quartier, une première pour le Festival. Accompagné par la voix du comédien Christian Vanasse, le public pourra découvrir l’exposition de cadres lumineux en 3D créés par la conceptrice lumière et scénographe Lucie Bazzo et exposés dans les vitrines des commerçants du quartier. Le parcours en 8 stations est ponctué d’anecdotes historiques présentées par Melanie Leavitt de l’organisme Mémoire du Mile End.

Finalement, Phénomena est particulièrement fier de s’associer à nouveau au danseur et chorégraphe Peter Trosztmer pour présenter une création in situ intitulée Falling Slowly. La pièce, d’une durée de 30 minutes, sera présentée à 5 reprises devant 40 spectateurs dans un stationnement près d’un vieux bâtiment industriel dans le quartier Griffintown.

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.