A Message from D. Kimm

Collectively, we are experiencing troubling, worrying, strange and unsettling times, each of us in their own way and to the best of their abilities.

For us, Les Filles électriques, financial loss hasn’t been drastic since our funding has been ensured by a handful of arts councils and for that we are deeply grateful. On the other hand, we were terribly worried for colleagues, artists, companies, festival organizers, technicians, designers, amongst others, who were dealt a new, harsh reality. And it breaks our hearts to think of all these productions, creations, projects, tours and dreams that may never again have the chance to exist. There is something irrevocably lost that will not come back. There is some grieving to be done.

It is our responsibility to make sure the 9th edition of Phenomena Festival happens in the most inventive, solidary and generous way possible. At the same time, given the current health crisis, it wouldn’t be wise to present our usual festive cabarets inside a small Sala Rossa where our audience members stand shoulder-to-shoulder. We shifted paradigm and changed gears towards the digital world. The challenge then became to propose pertinent choices to both the artists and our audience, all the while maintaining the integrity and artistic standards of the Festival.

I must admit I was quite critical of this pressure that was put on the arts community to “quickly reinvent itself through use of digital technology”. Phenomena has never waited for a pandemic to hit in order to reinvent itself and find new artistic pathways. Moreover, digital art is a medium in and of itself and the artists within the phenomenal family are primarily involved in the performing arts — they are not necessarily familiar with digital technology.

We rolled up our sleeves and transformed the restraints of this collective crisis into opportunity for supporting artists who want to experiment and broaden their scope. As you know, the artists presented at Phenomena Festival are interdisciplinary, atypical and alternative performers, of whom we see little of on the web. This is also an opportunity for audiences outside Montréal to discover an unconventional, extravagant and exuberant Festival with artists that are no less phenomenal.

Enjoy the Festival, the performances, the artistic discovery and don’t forget to…you-know-what!

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Mot de D. Kimm

Nous vivons chacun à notre manière et du mieux qu’on peut cette période troublante, inquiétante, inconcevable et dérangeante.

Du côté des Filles électriques, les pertes financières n’ont pas encore été dramatiques car nos subventions étaient assurées par les différents conseils des arts et nous les remercions. Par contre, nous étions terriblement inquiets pour tous les collègues, artistes, compagnies, festivals, techniciens, concepteurs qui ont écopé durement. Et ça nous a brisé le cœur de penser à toutes ces productions, créations, projets, tournées, rêves qui n’auront peut-être jamais la chance d’exister. Il y a quelque chose de perdu à tout jamais qui ne reviendra pas. Il y a des deuils à faire.

Nous avions donc la responsabilité de réaliser cette 9e édition du Festival Phénomena de manière inventive, solidaire et généreuse, mais compte tenu de la pandémie, il n’était certes pas une bonne idée de présenter nos habituels cabarets festifs dans la petite Sala Rossa devant un public collé collé! Il a donc fallu changer complètement les paradigmes et nous tourner vers le numérique. Le défi étant de proposer quelque chose de pertinent aux artistes et au public, tout en maintenant l’intégrité et la qualité artistique du Festival.

Je dois avouer que j’étais fort critique face à cette pression faite sur le milieu culturel pour se «réinventer rapidement avec les outils numériques». Phénomena n’a pas attendu la pandémie pour se réinventer chaque année et explorer de nouvelles avenues. De plus, la création numérique est un médium en soi et les artistes de la famille phénoménale sont essentiellement des artistes de la performance et des arts vivants qui ne sont pas nécessairement familiers avec les outils numériques.

Nous nous sommes donc retroussé les manches pour transformer les contraintes de la crise en opportunité pour aider les artistes à expérimenter et élargir leur rayonnement. En effet, les artistes habituellement présentés au Festival sont des artistes interdisciplinaires, atypiques et alternatifs, dont on voit peu les productions sur le Web. Ce sera également une occasion pour le public hors Montréal de découvrir des artistes et un festival hors-norme, extravagants et exubérants.

Bon Festival, bon visionnement, bonne découverte et n’oubliez pas de… vous savez quoi!

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.