Phénomena 2021

How do we celebrate Festival Phénomena’s 10th anniversary in the middle of a pandemic? By preparing an incredible program and by channelling our inner resilience (when it comes to reinventing ourselves, we’re used to it! We’ve been doing it for years!).

After producing an all-virtual festival in 2020, we felt it was vital to meet our audience “in real life” for our 10th edition. In 2021, we are delighted to offer a rich and varied program with 8 indoor shows, 8 outdoor performances, and 2 exhibitions. We have the great pleasure of welcoming you back to our headquarters at La Sala Rossa, ingeniously reconfigured to seat 150, as well as La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines and La Tulipe. We are also performing in several locations around the neighbourhood. So no virtual events this year—only face-to-face (masks will be required for some performances).

We also took advantage of the months-long pandemic to revisit our photo archives. We have thousands of photographs, each more magnificent than the last, courtesy of Caroline Hayeur, official phantasmic photographer since the Festival began in 2012. Presented at the Maison de la culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal, the exhibition features a sumptuous mosaic of 266 photos that presents the most memorable moments throughout the Festival’s history. This vibrant collection required more than one agonizing decision.

Now more than ever, Phénomena’s 10th edition continues its mission to present unclassifiable, atypical, and undisciplined artists. We are proud of our inclusive and eclectic program. It is full of surprises, high on emotions, and guaranteed to take you places. Don’t let the pandemic drag you down. Swap the sweatpants and Netflix for a night of Phénomena… an “IRL” event that requires an audience!

Phénomena 2021

Comment célébrer les 10 ans du Festival Phénomena en pleine pandémie? En préparant une incroyable programmation et en étant résilients (pour ce qui est de se réinventer, ça va, nous sommes habitués, nous avons toujours fait ça!).

Après avoir dû réaliser une édition entièrement numérique en 2020, pour notre 10e édition il nous était vital de rencontrer notre public «en vrai» et nous sommes très heureux de proposer une programmation riche et variée avec 8 spectacles en salles, 8 performances en extérieur et 2 expositions. C’est avec un immense plaisir que nous réintégrons notre quartier général La Sala Rossa, ingénieusement réaménagée avec une jauge de 92 150 places, ainsi que La Chapelle – scènes contemporaines et le théâtre La Tulipe, et que nous investissons différents lieux du quartier. Donc pas de numérique cette année, que du vrai en face à face (même si nous devrons souvent être masqués).

Nous avons aussi profité des mois de pandémie pour revisiter nos archives photographiques c’est-à-dire des milliers de photos toutes plus magnifiques les unes que les autres réalisées par Caroline Hayeur, photographe fantasmatique officielle depuis la fondation du Festival en 2012. Présentée à la Maison de la culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal, cette exposition se décline en une somptueuse mosaïque de 266 photos qui reprend les moments mémorables de notre histoire. Une exposition haute en couleur… marquée par plusieurs choix déchirants.

Plus que jamais pour cette 10e édition, Phénomena poursuit sa mission de présenter des artistes inclassables, atypiques et indisciplinés. Nous sommes fiers de cette programmation inclusive et éclectique qui saura vous surprendre, vous toucher et vous faire voyager. Ne nous laissons pas abattre par la morosité pandémique, quittons nos habits de jogging et Netflix pour profiter de Phénomena… qui sera en «présentiel» et nécessitera votre chaleureuse présence!